Body Building… Have I lost the plot? 

Today’s blog is a bit of history regarding my fitness journey and explains why I decided to start a female body building program. My main reason is because I want to be strong enough to cope with whatever my MS might throw at me, it’s not about becoming a body builder but more about building a body that won’t let me down so much. 

 After having more than my share of setbacks in and out of the gym I realised I didn’t really know where I fit in the gym life anymore! I used to be a cardio queen, it was all about weight loss and keeping as small as possible when I first started in 2009 as a slightly chubby short arse. I then added a bit of strength but didn’t really have any goals and was often spinning 7 times a week by 2011 so any strength I did was probably being burnt away in a sweaty spin room! 

In 2010 I had a car accident that left me with permenent neck/back injury but at the time I didn’t really know how bad it was. It wasn’t until a couple of years ago when I fell doing a handstand in one of my gym classes that they found 4 fractures! I was back on an exercise bike within 2 weeks but not spinning for a month and it was much longer before I was able to do strength again. Then 18 months ago I had one of my worst MS relapses. I had severe dizziness and vertigo, I was barely able to lift my head up or  walk in a straight line for 5 weeks. This yet again put me back! When I came back I was determined to start building strength and got a plan devised by a personal trainer Daddy Kabuiku http://www.trainforlifeuk.com/

Following this plan I built up a pretty decent amount of strength only to have a gym injury in January resulting in dislocated shoulder and subsequently getting bursitis which put me out of lifting for the next 5 months! 

Each time I come back I find it harder and harder, I don’t know if that’s down to my ms or just motivation. 

While trying my best to overcome injuries I’ve also been battling crippling medication side effects which has also played a part in  hampering my progress! 

This brings me to a couple of weeks ago when I realised I wanted/needed a new focus. I’ve had to cut most cardio out because of fatigue so only do 10 minute hiit on the treadmill before any strength. I was only training 3 times a week and knew I wanted and needed to do more if I was going to get back to where I was so I scrabbled  around the internet until I found Jim Stoppani’s Short Cut To Size plan on http://www.bodybuilding.com

And so my new motivation began

Day one,  Monday chest, triceps and calves

https://instagram.com/p/_tSqfTOdBG/

10 minute interval training on treadmill 

Bench Press: 4 sets of 12-15 reps, Rest-pause on final set for each

Incline Bench Press: 3 sets of 12-15 reps

Incline Dumbbell Flyes: 3 sets of 12-15 reps

Cable Crossover: 3 sets of 12-15 reps

Triceps Pushdown: 4 sets of 12-15 reps        

Lying Triceps Extension: 3 sets of 12-15 reps

Cable Overhead Triceps Extension: 3 sets of 12-15 reps

Standing Calf Raise: 4 sets of 25-30 reps         

Seated Calf Raise: 4 sets of 25-30 reps

Tuesday, my usual kettlebell and bodyweight class

Wednesday, Pilates 

Thursday back, biceps and abs

Saturday shoulders, traps and calves

Sunday legs and abs

If you want to see what the rest of my week held then check out this link Short Cut To Size

My food is prepped, all gym kit clean and ready for the start of week 2! 

Leave a comment