Meal Prep Is The Answer

It doesn’t matter what the question is… food prep is the answer. I am too tired to cook healthily after work… Food prep is the answer. I want to lose weight… Food prep. I need to stick to my macros… Food prep… I need to watch my portion sizes… Food prep. I live on my own so only cooking for one… Food prep.

I started food prepping on a Sunday a few years ago when I was quite poorly with my MS. I was just about managing to get through a day at work but then so fatigued by the time I got home I didn’t have the energy or motivation to cook. I was usually asleep within half an hour of getting home so it was either a bowl of cereal or nothing for my evening meal. The longer this went on the worse my fatigue got, the more weight my body held onto because it was storing fat in case it didn’t get fed for another 18 hours. This is where my mum came in, she suggested two things. Cooking all my meals on a day I wasn’t at work and had more energy and secondly buy ready prepared vegetables. Both these things had an immediate effect on me. I started eating a healthy, nutritious meal every day AND I started losing the weight I’d piled on from bad eating habits. It took a while before my fatigue lifted but that was more to do with my MS than my eating habits.

Even now I’m much healthier I still food prep every Sunday. I have got much quicker at it, sometimes I buy the veg all ready prepared but other times (like today) I make the effort to peel, chop and prepare what I need. Each week I cook 3 different meals so I can rotate it and have something different every day for Dinner.

Today’s recipes are

Beef and Sweet Potato Casserole

Moroccan Chicken soup

Heck Chicken Sausage and Bean casserole

Beef and Sweet Potato Casserole

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Chop sweet potato

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Add chopped onions

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Add mixed herbs and chopped carrots

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Garlic

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Add chopped beef and stock

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Put in a preheated oven 180 degrees for 70 minutes, stir, add cornflour to thicken and put back in the oven uncovered for 20 minutes.

 

Next I made the Moroccan chicken soup for my lunches. This one I cheat with, I buy the veg and seasoning in a packet (Morrisons 2 for £1.50)

Add the Moroccan style meal kit to chilli, herbs and chopped tomatoes, vegetable stock cube, chicken breast cut up into small pieces and water to a large pan. Simmer for 30 minutes and it’s done. I use two packets for a weeks worth of lunches.

Next I prepped the spicy sausage and bean casserole. I literally throw the ingredients into a casserole dish, put it in oven and forget about it for an hour. I then add a tin of baked beans to it and return to oven for 10 minutes. I love the Heck chicken sausages, super healthy, gluten free and more importantly tasty.

Next on the prep list is preparing some healthy snacks. Sugar free jelly with grapes go in the fridge ready to be topped with Greek yogurt. (Sorry the pics are sideways)

I also cook hard boiled eggs and get vegetable sticks ready for my healthy snacks I have at 4pm alternatively I have Greek yogurt and seeds

If you like this foodie post then let me know and I’ll do some more.

Thanks for reading

Leave a Reply

